Publications

Ultimately, we can’t shop our way out of the problem of toxic chemical exposure, but until we pass laws that make it so that all our products are safe, there are healthier and safer choices that we can make.  Use these online tools and resources to keep your family safe from toxic chemicals in your home.

Many of the following papers and reports are available in Adobe Acrobat (pdf) formats. If you don’t have Adobe Acrobat Reader (to view these documents), you may download it for free.

 

 

 

Cosmetics and Personal Care Products:

  1. California Safe Cosmetics program product https://safecosmetics.cdph.ca.gov/search/
  2. Skin Deep Cosmetics Database by EWG http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/
  3. Campaign for Safe Cosmetics www.safecosmetics.org
  4. Cosmetic Chemicals to avoid by the David Suzuki Foundation http://www.davidsuzuki.org/issues/health/science/toxics/dirty-dozen-cosmetic-chemicals/

Feminine Hygiene & Safer Sex Products

  1. Chem Fatale Report by Women’s Voices for the Earth http://www.womensvoices.org/feminine-care-products/chem-fatale-report/

Household Cleaning Products:

  1. Safe Cleaning Products by Women’s Voices for the Earth http://www.womensvoices.org/safe-cleaning-products/
  2. Top Green Cleaning Products by EWG http://www.ewg.org/guides/cleaners
  3. Cleaners Database Hall of Shame by EWG http://static.ewg.org/reports/2012/cleaners_hallofshame/cleaners_hallofshame.pdf
  4. EPA Safer Choice Label http://www.epa.gov/saferchoice

Plastics:

  1. The Case of PVC Cartoon by the Center for Health, Envrionment & Justice (CHEJ) http://chej.org/campaigns/pvc/projects/sam-suds/
  2. PVC-Free Products for Your Schools and Home by CHEJ http://chej.org/campaigns/pvc/resources/pvc-free-products/
  3. Know Your Plastics http://www.healthychild.org/know-your-plastics/
  4. Adverse Health Affects of Plastic by Ecology Center http://ecologycenter.org/factsheets/adverse-health-effects-of-plastics/#plastichealthgrid

Child Safety and Toys:

  1. Easy Steps – Products by Healthy Child http://www.healthychild.org/easy-steps/product/
  2. Easy Steps – Lifestage by Healthy Child http://www.healthychild.org/easy-steps/lifestage/
  3. The Consumer Action Guide to Toxic Chemicals in Toys, Pet Products, Cars, School supplies, Accessories and more by Healthy Stuff http://www.ecocenter.org/healthy-stuff/
  4. Babies and Kids by Washington Toxics Coalition http://www.watoxics.org/healthy-living/babies-and-kids

Pet Care:

  1. Protecting our Pets by Ecology Center http://www.ecocenter.org/pets
  2. Pets by Pesticide Action Network http://www.panna.org/starting-home/pets
  3. Healthy Stuff by Ecology Center http://www.ecocenter.org/healthy-stuff

Furniture:

  1. Toxic Chemicals in our Couches by the National Resource Defense Council http://www.nrdc.org/health/flame-retardants/toxic-couch.asp
  2. Couches Without Flame Retardants by Safer Chemicals, Healthy Families http://saferchemicals.org/2014/09/24/couches-without-toxic-flame-retardants-coming-soon-to-a-major-retailer-near-you/
  3. Furniture Retailers Phase Toxic Flame Retardant Chemical Brings Safer Choices by Safer Chemicals, Healthy Families http://saferchemicals.org/newsroom/furniture-retailer-phase-out-of-toxic-flame-retardant-chemicals-brings-safer-choices/

Laundry & Dry cleaning:

  1. Alternatives to Perchloroethylene Used in Professional Garment Care by Toxics Use Reduction Institute (TURI) http://www.turi.org/TURI_Publications/TURI_Chemical_Fact_Sheets/Fact_Sheet_-_Alternatives_to_Perchloroethylene_Used_in_Professional_Garment_Care
  2. DIY Laundry by TURI by http://www.turi.org/Our_Work/Cleaning_Laboratory/Households_Safer_Cleaning_Alternatives/DIY_Laundry

Food and its Packaging:

  1. Calculate Mercury Content in Fish and Seafood by Turtle Island Restoration Network https://seaturtles.org/programs/mercury/
  2. Tips for Avoiding BPA in Canned Food by Breast Cancer Fund http://www.breastcancerfund.org/reduce-your-risk/tips/avoid-bpa.html
  3. 10 Canned Foods to Avoid by Breast Cancer Fund http://www.breastcancerfund.org/assets/pdfs/tips-fact-sheets/tip-card-ten-canned-foods-to.pdf
  4. Chemicals in Food by Breast Cancer Fund http://www.breastcancerfund.org/clear-science/environmental-breast-cancer-links/food/
  5. Seafood Watch by Monterey Bay Aquarium http://www.seafoodwatch.org/

Yard Care:

  1. Green Lawns and Gardens by Department of Environmental Conservation NY  http://www.dec.ny.gov/public/44290.html
  2. Grow a Pesticide Free Lawn by Healthy Child http://www.healthychild.org/easy-steps/protect-kids-from-pesticides-grow-a-pesticide-free-lawn/

Construction/Home Care Materials:

  1. 7 Way to Reduce Your Exposure to Formaldehyde by Earth Easy http://learn.eartheasy.com/2011/06/7-easy-ways-to-reduce-your-exposure-to-formaldehyde/
  2. Floored By Phthalates by Healthy Stuff http://www.ecocenter.org/healthy-stuff/reports/vinyl-floor-tiles
  3. Detoxing Your Space by Healthy Child http://www.healthychild.org/easy-steps/spaces/

Other Resources:

AHT Members