Online tools for safer shopping

Ultimately, we can’t shop our way out of the problem of toxic chemical exposure, but until we pass laws that make it so that all our products are safe, there are healthier and safer choices that we can make.  Some tools to help you find safer products:

All Products

Online tool to search for chemicals of concern by product category: https://www.ecocenter.org/healthy-stuff/product-search

Cosmetics and Personal Care Products

AHT is a founding member of the Campaign for Safe Cosmetics, www.safecosmetics.org, a project of Breast Cancer Prevention Partners.  See the campaign for the latest on safe cosmetics.  Some other tools are:

  1. Skin Deep Cosmetics Database (Environmental Working Group)  http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/  
  2. California requires cosmetics manufacturers to tell the state if any of their products contain carcinogens, reproductive toxins, or chemicals that may cause birth defects.  The state provides a searchable database for the public at  https://safecosmetics.cdph.ca.gov/search/
  3. David Suzuki Foundation focuses on chemicals found in Canadian personal care products  http://www.davidsuzuki.org/issues/health/science/toxics/dirty-dozen-cosmetic-chemicals/

Feminine Hygiene Products

  1.  Women’s Voices for the Earth is working to get toxic chemicals out of tampons, sanitary napkins and other feminine care products.  http://www.womensvoices.org/feminine-care-products/chem-fatale-report/

Household Cleaning Products

  1. Safe Cleaning Products (Women’s Voices for the Earth http://www.womensvoices.org/safe-cleaning-products/
  2. Guide to Healthy Cleaning (Environmental Working Group)  http://www.ewg.org/guides/cleaners
  3. EPA Safer Choice Label (Environmental Protection Agency)  http://www.epa.gov/saferchoice

Plastics

  1. PVC-Free Products for Your Schools and Home (CHEJ)http://chej.org/campaigns/pvc/resources/pvc-free-products/
  2. Know Your Plastics http://www.healthychild.org/know-your-plastics/
  3. Adverse Health Affects of Plastic (Ecology Center)  http://ecologycenter.org/factsheets/adverse-health-effects-of-plastics/#plastichealthgrid

Child Safety and Toys

  1. Car Seats (Ecology Center) http://www.ecocenter.org/healthy-stuff/
  2. Children’s Rooms, Clothing, Toys, Art Supplies (Tosci Free Future) http://www.toxicfreefuture.org/healthy-living/babies-and-kids

Pet Care

  1. Protecting our Pets (Ecology Center) http://www.ecocenter.org/pets
  2. Pets (Pesticide Action Network) http://www.panna.org/starting-home/pets

Furniture

  1. Toxic Chemicals in our Couches (National Resource Defense Council) http://www.nrdc.org/health/flame-retardants/toxic-couch.asp
  2. Couches Without Flame Retardants (Safer Chemicals, Healthy Families) http://saferchemicals.org/2014/09/24/couches-without-toxic-flame-retardants-coming-soon-to-a-major-retailer-near-you/  and  
  3. http://saferchemicals.org/newsroom/furniture-retailer-phase-out-of-toxic-flame-retardant-chemicals-brings-safer-choices/
  4. tailers Phase Toxic Flame Retardant Chemical Brings Safer Choices by Safer Chemicals, Healthy Families

Alternatives to Perchloroethylene Used in Professional Garment Care by Toxics Use Reduction Institute (TURI) http://www.turi.org/TURI_Publications/TURI_Chemical_Fact_Sheets/Fact_Sheet_-_Alternatives_to_Perchloroethylene_Used_in_Professional_Garment_Care

  1. DIY Laundry by TURI by http://www.turi.org/Our_Work/Cleaning_Laboratory/Households_Safer_Cleaning_Alternatives/DIY_Laundry

Food and its Packaging:

  1. Calculate Mercury Content in Fish and Seafood by Turtle Island Restoration Network https://seaturtles.org/programs/mercury/
  2. Tips for Avoiding BPA in Canned Food by Breast Cancer Prevention Partners https://www.bcpp.org/our-work/tips-for-prevention/
  3. Chemicals in Food by Breast Cancer Fund http://www.breastcancerfund.org/clear-science/environmental-breast-cancer-links/food/
  4. Seafood Watch by Monterey Bay Aquarium http://www.seafoodwatch.org/

Yard Care:

  1. Green Lawns and Gardens by Department of Environmental Conservation NY  http://www.dec.ny.gov/public/44290.html
  2. Grow a Pesticide Free Lawn by Healthy Child http://www.healthychild.org/easy-steps/protect-kids-from-pesticides-grow-a-pesticide-free-lawn/

Construction/Home Care Materials:

  1. 7 Way to Reduce Your Exposure to Formaldehyde by Earth Easy http://learn.eartheasy.com/2011/06/7-easy-ways-to-reduce-your-exposure-to-formaldehyde/
  2. Floored By Phthalates by Healthy Stuff http://www.ecocenter.org/healthy-stuff/reports/vinyl-floor-tiles
  3. Detoxing Your Space by Healthy Child http://www.healthychild.org/easy-steps/spaces/